Which Grade Is Top

By |

Which Grade Is Top

What is considered top grades, Which Grade Is Top

In the vibrant and diverse educational landscape of South Africa, parents, students, and educators are constantly seeking information about the top grades in the country. For parents, making an informed decision about their child’s education is paramount, and understanding which grade stands out as the best is a crucial factor in this decision-making process. we delve deep into the educational system of South Africa, exploring the various grades and identifying which one holds the top position.

South Africa Education System

The National Qualification Framework (NQF) is a framework that specifies the rules, specifications, and prerequisites for educational institutions and the programmes they offer.

  • Level 1: This level is equivalent to general education and training. Grades 0 through 9 or adult basic education and training are included in the mandatory education phase.
  • Levels 2, 3, and 4: The senior secondary school phase, which lasts from grades 10 to 12, as well as general or career-specific programmes offered at community, technical, or private institutions, as well as programmes offered at the workplace or regional training facilities, make up this level.
  • Levels 5, 6, 7, and 8: These levels include certificates and degrees from higher education institutions such as universities, technical colleges, and public and private professional institutions.

READ ALSO; What Can I Study With My Matric Results

South Africa General Education and Training

The South African Schools Act, of 1996 mandates that all children between the ages of 7 and 15 must attend school. Adult Basic Education and Training (ABET), which is accessible and available to individuals who seek to complete their fundamental education, is also included in General Education and Training.
  1. Grades: 0 to 9
  2. Credential: General Education and Training Certificate
The General Education and Training corresponds to the Level 1 of the National Qualification and comprises of three phases-
  1. Foundation Phase: Also, called Junior Primary and runs from Grade R/1 to 3
  2. Intermediate Phase: Runs from Grades 4 to 6
  3. Senior Phase: Runs from Grades 7 to 9

South Africa Further Education and Training

Completing Levels 2-4 of the National Qualification Framework (NQF) schooling is not required. Students who complete the FET receive career-focused, hands-on education and training that culminates to a Senior Certificate.
  1. Areas of Study: Language, Mathematics, Technology, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Economics and Management Science, Life Orientation, and Arts and Culture.
  2. Grades: 10-12
  3. Credential: Senior Certificate

READ ALSO; What is Grade 12 Equivalent

South Africa Higher Education and Training

Higher Education or Tertiary Education corresponds to Level 5-8 of the National Qualification Framework (NQF). Undergraduate and graduate programmes of study are included in South Africa’s higher education system or tertiary education. South Africa has 24 public universities, which are divided into the following categories:
  1. Comprehensive Universities
  2. Traditional Universities
  3. Technikons, or Universities of Technology
The Higher Education Institutions in South Africa provide Bachelor’s, Honors, Master’s and Doctorate Degrees.
 Education Bands/Types  Grades/Qualifications
 Primary School  Grade R-Grade 6
 Secondary Level  Grade 7- Grade 9
 Further Education and Training  Grade 10- Grade 12 (Matriculation)
 Higher Education and Training  Certificate & Diploma (1-2 years), Bachelor’s degree (3-6 years),
Honours (One additional year plus bachelor studies),
Master (2 years), and Doctorate (2 years)







navigating the educational choices in South Africa can be a daunting task, but understanding each grade is vital in making an informed decision for your child’s academic journey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *