Is Grade 12 the same as Matric

By |

Is Grade 12 the same as Matric

Are you wondering whether Grade 12 can serve as Matric, well this informative guide is here to assist you with further explanation. In South Africa, matriculation (also known as matric) is the senior year of high school, the diploma awarded upon graduation, and the minimal standard for admission to a university. Since grade 12 is the matriculation grade, this document is also referred to as a “matriculation” certificate. kindly read more on this topic below;

What Separates Grade 12 From the Matric?

Matriculation and Grade 12 are identical. The same thing is meant by both names. The final high school class is known as Matric or Grade 12.

What Is the Same As Grade 12?

There are numerous courses that are Matric Certificate-equivalent. A Matric Equivalent Certificate is any NQF level 4 qualification.

READ ALSO; What NQF level is Matric?

What is A Higher Grade In South Africa

greater Grade Subjects (HG) are those that, thanks to their greater credit, aid in your admission to university. Low credit subjects are those with a standard grade (SG).

In South Africa, What Is The 12th Grade Called?

The South African school-leaving certificate is known as the National Senior Certificate or NSC. It is equivalent to a high school diploma. Given that grade 12 is the matriculation grade, this document is frequently referred to as the matriculation (matric) certificate.

How Many Subjects Are in Matriculation

In Matric, there are numerous subjects. You must study seven (7) subjects, though. There must be both required and optional subjects among the seven subjects. A list of the required subjects is provided below.

You must choose four (4) subjects, which are:

  • Home Language subject
  • English First Additional Language subject
  • Life Orientation subject
  • Mathematical subject

These are the compulsory subjects:

  •  English Home Language
  •  English First Additional Language
  •  Afrikaans Huistaal
  •  Afrikaans Eerste Additionele Taal
  •  Sesotho Home Language
  •  Siswati Home Language
  •  Setswana Home Language
  • isiZulu Home Language
  •  isiXhosa Home Language
  •  isiNdebele Home Language
  • Sepedi Home Language
  • Xitsonga Home Language
  • Tshivenda Home Language
  •  Life Orientation
  • Mathematics
  •  Mathematical Literacy

READ ALSO: What is the highest Matric qualification?

There are elective subjects as well. You may choose any three (3) of the following subjects to study; there are no restrictions on this:

  • Economics
  •  Physical Sciences
  •  Life Sciences
  • Agricultural Sciences
  • Business Studies
  • Accounting
  •  History
  • Geography
  •  Religious Studies

You’ve undoubtedly spent the entire year thinking about the next phase of your life and asking questions like, “What am I going to study after I finish my matric certificate exams?” and “Am I going to study?” When I pass, what else am I able to do? Yes, we hope this guide has been of help

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *