What NQF level is Matric

By |

What NQF level is Matric

What NQF level is Matric

In the realm of South African education, the term “Matric” holds immense importance. It signifies the highest point of a student’s secondary schooling journey and serves as a pivotal milestone in their academic life. If you’ve ever applied for a course, you’ve likely heard the phrase “NQF levels.” They are crucial to the educational system in South Africa. To ensure that the education is of the highest calibre and will be acknowledged by numerous institutions and businesses, check for NQF-level courses when searching for recognised and approved programmes. The National Qualifications Framework is referred to as NQF. This approach is employed to ascertain the degree to which pupils have attained a qualification or qualifications. The higher your NQF Level, the Higher your Qualification.

What Are NQF Level Certificates

Matric is at NQF Level 4. In South Africa, it offers a few Certificates that are at NQF Level 4. These Certificates are:

  • Adult Matric Certificate at Matric College
  • Matric Upgrade at Matric College
  • National Senior Certificate in High School
  • Senior (Amended) Certificate
  • Amended Senior Certificate
  • Matric Equivalent Certificates

Read Also; Is Grade 12 the same as Matric?

Matric Level in the NQF

Matriculation, or Matric, corresponds to NQF levels 3 and 4. This means that completing Matric places individuals at an educational level equivalent to grades 10-12. It serves as the final phase of high school education and is a prerequisite for admission to many tertiary education programs in South Africa.

What Is An NQF Level 4’s Equivalent To

The credentials you can get that are equal to a NQF Level 4 are listed below:

  • National Senior Certificate
  • Amended Matric Certificate
  • National Vocational Certificate Level 4

NQF levels To Obtain 

The many NQF levels that you could achieve during the course of your academic career are listed here.

NQF Level Qualification
1 General certificate

Grade 9

2 Elementary certificate

Grade 10

National Vocational Certificate Level 2

3 Intermediate certificate

Grade 11

National Vocational Certificate Level 3

4 National Senior Certificate

Amended Matric Certificate

National Vocational Certificate Level 4

5 Higher Certificate

Advanced National Vocational Certificate

6 National Diploma

Advanced Certificate

7 Bachelor’s Degree

Advanced Diploma

Post-graduate Certificate

Bachelors of Technology

8 Bachelors Honour’s Degree

Post-graduate Diploma

Professional Qualifications

9 Master’s Degree
10 Doctor’s Degree


In the South African education landscape, Matriculation is a critical stepping stone, representing NQF levels 3 and 4 and providing access to higher education and employment opportunities. Understanding the NQF level of Matric is essential for students, parents, and anyone interested in the South African education system. With Matric as your foundation, you can embark on a path of learning and growth, tailored to your aspirations and goals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *